< Back to All News

USDA declares Nevada County Natural Disaster Area Due to Snowstorms

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated Nevada County as a primary natural disaster area due to losses caused by snowstorms that occurred Feb. 24 – May 16, 2011.

Farmers and ranchers in Placer, Sierra and Yuba counties also qualify for natural disaster assistance because their counties are contiguous.

The counties  were designated natural disaster areas Sept. 2, 2011, making all qualified farm operators in the designated areas eligible for low interest emergency (EM) loans from USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA), provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of the declaration to apply for loans to help cover part of their actual losses. FSA has a variety of programs, in addition to the EM loan program, to help eligible farmers recover from adversity.

Leave A Comment