< Back to All News

25th Annual Draft Horse Classic Awards Announced

Awards for the 25th annual Draft Horse Classic, held September 22 – 25 at the Nevada County Fairgrounds in Grass Valley, have been announced.  Jim Poole of St. Louis, Missouri judged the Draft Horse competitions and halter show. Dwight Gilbert from Nevada was the judge of the pulling contest; and Jake Engler, visiting from Magnolia, Texas, was the horseshoe competition judge.

Draft horse exhibitors from California, Nevada, Oregon, Idaho, and Iowa competed for more than $35,000 in premium awards. The competitions took place during six performances over the four-day event.  

The winner of the Six-Up Ultimate Hitch Championship was Arlin Wareing of The Wareings, from Blackfoot, Idaho.

For the fifth consecutive year, Danielle Simpson of Simpson Percherons from Rio Vista, California, was recognized as the outstanding lady driver, accumulating high points to win the Susan Parnell High Point Perpetual Award.

The Teamster of the Year Award was presented to Arlin Wareing, an honor bestowed upon him by the voting of his fellow teamsters. The Draft Horse & Mule Association presented their special Teamster Award to Larry Barnes of Reno, Nevada.  Ciera Barry of Shady Oaks Ranch in Millville, California, won the Youth of the Show award.

The Overall Supreme Champion horse and the Grand Champion Stallion was Jack of Hearts, owned by Jeanne Williams of Lodi, California, and shown by Vernon Helmuth. The Grand Champion Mare was Mercedes, owned by The Howells and shown by Timothy Howell, both of Blackfoot, Idaho.

The winner in the 2011 Edward Martin Perpetual Horseshoeing Competition was Nick Rossi of Danville, California.

At the first annual Classic Rib Cook-Off, the first place winner was Andy Ferrendelli cooking for A&L BBQ, based out of Princeton, California. Second place went to Chuck Collendez, cooking for Bowling Over Pigs BBQ from Brentwood, California; and third place went to Plane Ole BBQ, with cook Ray Campbell from Lincoln, California.  The People’s Choice Champion was also Plane Ole BBQ.

At the Harvest Fair, the People’s Choice award for the scarecrows included Sherry Andreini for first place, Stuart Woodhall for second place, and The Hays Family for third place. The Best of Division in Scarecrows went to Roy Hays of The Hays Family.

A complete list of 2010 Draft Horse Classic awards, as well as all the Harvest Fair winners, is on the Nevada County Fairgrounds’ website at www.NevadaCountyFair.com. 

The 2012 Draft Horse Classic is scheduled for September 20 – 23. Tickets will go on sale on May 1, 2012.  Visit www.NevadaCountyFair.com for more information.

KNCO Web Comments Guidelines

  1. Keep it clean. Comments with inappropriate language, no matter how cleverly spelled or decorated will not be posted.
  2. Comments on the way the story was written or misspelled words will be passed on to the story authors and not posted.
  3. Please use your real name. Anonymous comments or comments posted using a fake name or web handle may not be posted.
  4. Please use your real email address so we can contact you.
  5. No flaming. Any comments that are primarily of a name calling finger pointing nature may not be posted.
  6. The comment section is not a right it is a privilege. KNCO retains all rights as to what is posted on its website.

Leave A Comment



* captcha